Blogging 101

Standard

I have been blogging for about 10 years. In all those years, I have never had a blog that was satisfying, because they so often would become full of boring and mundane posts. More of a youthful “Dear Diary…” than a provocative archive of things that interest me. I really hope that changes.

I don’t do New Year’s resolutions. More often than not, they make me feel bad about myself, because I simply don’t follow through. This year, instead of a resolution, I made a promise to myself. This WILL be the year I do the things I have been putting off. I will put work into a blog, and make it something I can be proud of. I will start writing a cook book. I will work on projects, big and small, that will be fulfilling and challenging.

I am in the last year of my 20s. Yes, I am still young. But, I do feel like this is the perfect time for me to start working on things that will make me happy. My husband is ecstatic that I am jumping right into working on my goals. I love having that support!

The Blogging 101 class, which is starting Monday, comes at the perfect time for me, since it’s the dead of winter in chilly Minnesota, and the thought of going outside right now is torturous!

Monday is coming fast, and I’m honestly a little scared, but it’s also really exciting! So, I’ll be waiting for Monday’s assignment (and trying not to freeze in these subzero temps!).

7 thoughts on “Blogging 101

  1. Hello Autumn. I’m April. It is snowing where I am at and I think you will be getting this weather soon. I love your color scheme and I think it is just fine for a lifestyle blog, but don’t be surprised if you change it, that is one of the assignments, try out at least 3 themes, one you love and one you hate. I didn’t think I would change mine but I did. But honestly this is what it is about right here, doing what you want to do and see someone react to it. Welcome to Blogging 101. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work.

  2. Nice to meet you, April! I’m excited for the assignments, even if some of them are tough!

    I’m looking forward to reading your work as well! Thanks for the follow!

  3. Hello I’m Maia & I’m joining too .. so nice to meet you 🙂 .. have blogged for a little while but only on the lines of figuring out things on my own .. so I’m looking forward to this as well, it will be nice to get rid of that I have no clue feeling to the whole technical side of things 🙂

  4. Hi Autumn,

    Your goals sound so familiar. I did start a cook book last year using OneNote (Microsoft) and I LOVE it! Using OneNote, I’m able to share with mom and sister, who both contribute the favorite family recipes, add things they like and we have an accessible, personal cookbook everyone shares. Do it! You’ll love it! Peggi

Leave a Reply

