Oscar Predictions

Standard

The Oscars are tonight! My husband and I watch the award show every year. It is, in fact, the only award show we watch. We always have ballots and vote for winners. This year, we’re in a pool with some friends of ours, which makes the competition even more fun!

I have decided to give my picks for what I think is going to win, and tomorrow we can see how I did!

Autumn’s 2015 Oscar Picks

Best Picture: Birdman
This year is really close in terms of winners, more so than previous years have been. It seems that Birdman and Boyhood are the two favorites to take home the top award. They are both such unique films. Birdman is quirky, and has a deep message about art and show business that the Academy would probably appreciate. Boyhood was filmed over 12 years, with the same cast, so the viewer can see every character grow and change throughout the course of the film. It is something that had never been done before, which makes it a strong contender. I think that a movie about the industry has a slight edge over one with a long time commitment, as impressive as it was.

Best Director: Richard Linklater, Boyhood
As I said above, it took 12 years to film Boyhood, and I honestly think that commitment is impressive, especially because it worked out so well. It is a feat that is unique and definitely Oscar worthy!

Best Actor: Michael Keaton, Birdman
Michael Keaton has been out of the movie scene for a while, and this was his triumphant return. He was gritty but relatable. He has some strong competition in Steve Carell, Bradley Cooper, Benedict Cumberbatch, and Eddie Redmayne (who I think is a close second), but I think Keaton’s performance will win.

Best Actress: Julianne Moore, Still Alice
Moore is everyone’s favorite to win this award. Her portrayal of a woman with early-onset Alzheimer’s disease has been highly spoken of by critics and viewers alike. Unfortunately for the other actresses nominated in this category, this one isn’t much of a contest.

Best Supporting Actor: JK Simmons, Whiplash
Unfortunately, I have not been able to see this film yet, so I had to rely on the opinions of others. I have friends that speak so highly of this film. I really like his acting work in other films, so I thought he would be a good choice to win.

Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
This is another category that seems to be less of a close race. Her acting in Boyhood was moving. I thought she was believable and was my favorite person in the film.

Best Original Screenplay: Grand Budapest Hotel
Best Adapted Screenplay: The Imitation Game
Best Animated: How to Train Your Dragon 2
Best Original Song: “Glory”, Selma
Best Foreign Film: Ida
Best Visual Effects: Interstellar
Best Editing: Boyhood (12 years of footage condensed into a complete story is impressive)
Best Documentary: Citizenfour
Best Cinematography: Birdman
Best Original Score: Jóhann Jóhannsson, The Theory of Everything
Best Production Design: Grand Budapest Hotel
Best Makeup: Foxcatcher
Best Costume Design: Grand Budapest Hotel
Best Sound Mixing: American Sniper
Best Sound Exiting: American Sniper
Best Documentary Short: Crisis Hotline, Veterans Press 1
Best Animated Short: Feast
Best Live Action Short: The Phone Call

The Awards should be starting soon! It’s being hosted by Neil Patrick Harris, so it should be a fun show! I will check in with this list tomorrow to see how well I predicted! Happy viewing to anyone watching the show tonight!

3 thoughts on “Oscar Predictions

Leave a Reply

