Oscar Reactions

Standard

The Oscars were very interesting last night! I am so glad that I watched. I am also really glad I was in a competition with some friends of ours to see who could guess the most winners. No, I wasn’t in first place, but I was in close second behind my husband. I’m so proud of him and his predictions! Even moreso than the predictions and competition, I was really impressed with the show and the acceptance speeches. Here are some of the highlights for me:

1. Every year, the songs nominated for Best Original Song are performed. It breaks up the speeches, and is always really fun. This year was especially good! The performance that really stood out for me was “Everything is Awesome” from The Lego Movie. There were tons of stars in the performance including The Lonely Island, who does the digital shorts on SNL. It was entertaining! Of course, the performance of “Glory” from Selma was incredible as well! I’m so glad they won the award! It was a moving song, it definitely deserved it, in my mind!

2. Speaking of songs, the opening song with Neil Patrick Harris, Anna Kendrick and Jack Black was hilarious! Especially with the dancing stormtroopers! I am SUCH a nerd…

3. Lady Gaga’s performance of a medley of songs from The Sound of Music made me tear up. Her voice is incredible. It’s hard to remember that sometimes, even though she is a great performer.

4. There were some amazing acceptance speeches this year. The one that stood out to me the most belonged to Patricia Arquette, who brought up wage equality and equal rights to women. It got a great reaction from the audience, especially the women! I loved it! Another amazing speech was given  your Graham Moore, who won Best Adapted Screenplay for The Imitation Game. He talked about how he attempted suicide when he was a teenager, because he didn’t fit in. His message was to “stay weird”, which I think was a really wonderful message to put out there. I loved it!

I wonder what amazing Oscar-worthy movies are going to come out this year!

2 thoughts on “Oscar Reactions

Leave a Reply

