Deep Thoughts Thursday: The Downfall of Good Intentions in Blogging

Standard

The one thing I have learned about myself since I have started blogging is that my tendency to plan more than do is present in just about every aspect of my life. I started this blog with a passion to write and the goal to write often. Now that I am a few months in, that doesn’t seem to be the way things are going.

The interesting thing about it, though, is that my blog isn’t like the numberless blogs that get abandoned (well, especially since this one isn’t abandoned at all…), because I spend so much time thinking about my blog and what to write. I am not joking about this at all! I think I spend at least half an hour thinking about my blog and planning posts. When it comes to actually writing things, though, life seems to always get in my way.

Yesterday, my husband was telling me a story about how, in high school, he was watching the X Men cartoon with some friends. At one point, the villain says, “Get out of my way!” as they so frequently do. The clever retort, given by Rogue, was: “Get out of your own way!”. So cheesy. Definitely doesn’t make a ton of sense. But, I got to think about it, and Rogue gives some pretty good advice that I am going to use! I’m getting out of my own way when it comes to writing. Instead of thinking and planning so much, I am going to write more! It will require some extra planning in advance. In the same way that I make a weekly meal plan so I don’t have to stand in front of the open fridge and hope that dinner ideas leap into my arms, I don’t want to stare at a screen, waiting for a blog idea to jump out at me.

So, I am going to have theme posts! Starting today, Thursdays will be Deep Thought Thursdays, where I talk about some of the bigger things in life. This might be one of my personal favorite themes, honestly.

“The road to hell is paved with good intentions”

I am not really sure if that’s what the road to hell is paved with. If hell exists, I would think the road to it would be paved with something much more menacing. Though, I suppose, if a road is paved with menacing things, would many people take that road? I sure wouldn’t. I do, however, have plenty of good intentions, but they don’t always turn into action.

I have so many good intentions when it comes to All Things Autumn. I have so many awesome posts in my head, and I spend a lot of time in the Reader, finding awesome blogs to follow. But, I just don’t deliver like I would like. I really think that having a schedule already made up, and scheduling posts may help for days when I don’t have a ton of time. Are these good intentions? For sure. Are they going to turn into good actions and awesome blog posts? In the words of my people: “You betcha”.

3 thoughts on “Deep Thoughts Thursday: The Downfall of Good Intentions in Blogging

  1. I think it is a good idea to have some theme posts because it keeps you writing. It is hard to find a balance between writing your own posts and building community by visiting, reading and commenting on other blogs. There is limited time and so much to do, like much of life.

Leave a Reply

