Deep Thoughts Thursday: The Princess Bride

Standard

Today’s Deep Thoughts Thursday isn’t about an issue that is important to me or something to debate. It’s about something that I love.
I am currently reading my absolute favorite book in the world: The Princess Bride. Most people have heard of the 80s movie with Fred Savage, Cary Elwes, and Robin Wright. What many people don’t know is that the movie is based on a book. Not only is the movie based on a book, it is based on an amazing book!
I got this book when I was about 12 years old. The first time I read it, I got a few chapters in and stopped. Not very high praise. Luckily, I tried again soon after. Since then, I have read it about 10 times. The first time I auditioned for a school play, I used a scene from this book. I still own the first copy I read, and it is completely falling apart!
As a gift, my husband got me an illustrated copy! It’s wonderful. I decided to read it, since it’s actually been a few year.
I obviously won’t give away too many details, but one of the things I love so much about the book is that it has so many more details than the movie could have. It’s hilarious, heartfelt, and an amazing love story! It’s unique because it’s a love story that both men and women can enjoy. There are amazing back stories, and the villain is someone that is really easy to hate, but charming as well! This book has almost everything you could want. I would feel so proud if I wrote something as good as this book!
Generally when I read, I read pretty fast. When I read The Princess Bride, it takes a long time! I love immersing myself in the story and scenery. It’s so well-written, the scenery is vivid!
I really think this is a book that just about anyone would enjoy. I recommend it to anyone!
Have you read it? Have you seen the movie? Tell me all about it in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Deep Thoughts Thursday: The Princess Bride

Leave a Reply

