Deep Thoughts Thursday and Blogging 101: My Ideal Reader

Standard

Today’s assignment in Blogging 101 is about the audience. Thinking about who my ideal reader is, and writing to them.

Anyone that has been reading this blog for any amount of time knows that I go about blogging a little differently than others. I mean, I blog just the same as other people blog (fingers to the keyboard, etc), but I think about blogging differently. I didn’t really start this blog with a certain person or kind of person in mind. I didn’t start this blog with a theme. When people ask what kind of blog I write, I basically say it’s a lifestyle blog with a little nerdiness thrown in. Dang, that would make a great potential tagline for this blog! I write about whatever I find inspiring or important on a given day. Needless to say, it’s a little bit of everything!

So, when it comes to my audience, or the kind of readers I aim for… I am mostly just happy that anyone reads this. When I write, I don’t think about a particular person. Basically, I try to write like I am talking to one of my best friends… My group of friends is very diverse. I try to write like I am having an impossible one-sided conversation with one of my best friends, and just go from there! When I started writing here, one of my main focuses was authenticity. I wanted to be my authentic self, writing genuine, honest posts.

Have I maybe phoned some posts in? Probably.

It’s part of why I don’t post daily, or sometimes even weekly. I aim for quality over quantity. I am a quiet person, and sometimes I just don’t have anything to say. Or, I am working on something I want to say, but I want to formulate it in my head before I put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard, I guess).

So, essentially, who is my ideal reader? Anyone that takes the time to read my blog and enjoys what I have to say.

Cheesy, right?

7 thoughts on “Deep Thoughts Thursday and Blogging 101: My Ideal Reader

  1. Nicely said. I think it is all our hopes that someone read what we are saying, heck isn’t that why we put it out into the ether ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That’s so true. If someone wrote blog posts hoping everyone would hate them, the blogosphere would be a lot less welcoming, I think! Thanks for the comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi Autumn, I appreciate your honesty. And will do my best to offer some constructive criticism. You wrote, “I am mostly just happy that anyone reads this.” I think that the assignment is challenging us to narrow our focus, to become more engaged in an exchange with a particular audience. (just this morning I read that there are over 7 billion people on the planet, lots to choose from) So, your quote about “anyone” made me think of that saying that is true but hard to hear sometimes,’If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time.”
    Keep being authentic and transparent. Perhaps your best friends are your main audience with some extra chairs around the table for us to join in the conversation.
    It was a pleasure to read your post.

    • Thank you for your feedback. I’m still relatively new at blogging, and trying to get my feet wet. So, for someone that only started 6 months ago, it’s still exciting for me that people are finding and reading what I’m writing. With that being said, I am definitely working on finding my focus and the people I would like to read this. For now, I have settled on the concept that I will write this as if my best friend is reading it, and the people I would expect to read it are those interested in the same things I am, though that will probably change as time goes on. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

