Lazy Sunday Binge Watch: The Princess Bride

Standard

Happy Sunday!

I am writing this from northern MN. Minnesota in the summer can be absolutely perfect. Sometimes, it’s so hot and humid that it’s hard to enjoy (though heat and humidity isn’t what MN is known for… it’s actually the opposite). This weekend, however, has been amazing! Little to no humidity, warm but not burning hot, with just a few clouds.

image

This is the beautiful view I got to wake up to!

This week’s Lazy Sunday Binge Watch pick is the 1987 classic movie The Princess Bride. This movie is based on the 1973 novel written by William Goldman. We just read this book for our book club (and a review is coming up soon!). If you have never seen this movie, it’s definitely worth watching!

It’s essentially a fairy tale, but done a little differently. It’s super quotable, hilarious, and holds up pretty well for a movie that will soon be 30 years old. Don’t let the title fool you, it’s something both males and females can enjoy. It’s also great for kids: not overly raunchy or violent, so perfect for a family movie night!

Sorry for the short post, but I absolutely don’t want to spoil this movie for anyone! Also, I was in a car for almost 4 hours today, and I am exhausted!

Have any of you seen The Princess Bride? What is your favorite (or least favorite) part? Let’s talk about it in the comments!

One thought on “Lazy Sunday Binge Watch: The Princess Bride

  1. I am seriously the first reply to discuss/comment on one of the greatest films ever made? Inconceivable! You don’t come across movies with better lines or a better cast than The Princess Bride. And to make life worse for me Cary Elwes is coming to a local theatre in my town where you could watch the movie and then discuss it with him… for a prime amount of money (actually, it’s no more than a concert ticket) you can meet him – THE MAN IN BLACK!!!! I shall try not to include any other spoilers in my comment here but if you have never watched The Princess Bride give it a chance – it’s an incredible journey of wit.

    One last comment – in an article Cary Elwes states that he will more than likely have “As you wish” on his tombstone – but when I mentioned this to my husband he goes… really, I thought “Mostly dead” would be more appropriate. In this case – I think my husband was spot on with the humor!

    Great pick for your Sunday Binge!!!

Leave a Reply

