August Health Challenge!

Standard

For the past couple months, my husband and I have been working towards drastically reducing the amount of sugar we eat. I have written posts about it along the way, and I think the biggest lesson I have learned about it so far is that it is NOT easy. As Americans, we are very fortunate that food is easy to come by, even though it’s not always nutritious. The convenience food that so many of us live on is full of chemicals, salt and sugar. To the point where many of us don’t even realize how much of this stuff we’re eating every day.

What started this journey off for us is that we watched a few documentaries like Fed Up, which went into detail about the insane amounts of sugar people are eating, why it’s in everything, and what that means for our health. We both came out of it feeling angry about how horrible sugar actually is, and many people don’t talk about it. We also like a good challenge now and then, so we thought it would be fun to try giving up sugar, to see what happened. Since then, my relationship with sugar has been a roller coaster, to say the least. I had beaten withdrawals, then decided to have a piece of pie. That led to a downward spiral that I am still trying to recover from. The frustrating thing is that I had gotten through the hardest part and was starting to feel really awesome. Knowing how good I can feel makes me feel really downtrodden since it has been such a struggle. But it also gives me the determination to get back there and succeed!

Recently, while working on a budget (there is a post about that coming!), my husband and I decided that it would be kind of fun to challenge ourselves further. It seems our biggest downfalls when it comes to keeping off sugar are coffee shops and eating at restaurants. After figuring out how much money we could save if we eliminated both from our diets for a month, we decided why not give it a try!

So, for the month of August, we aren’t eating at restaurants or going to coffee shops. This will force us to be more concerned about what we’re eating. It will be a lot of work, but we totally think it’s worth it! Luckily, I generally enjoy cooking, and have been working harder to create a meal plan every week and stick to it! When it comes to coffee (which isn’t something we’re willing to give up at this point), we are planning on getting a Nespresso coffee maker this weekend! We currently have a Keurig, but we are more espresso drinkers than coffee drinkers. It’s a really exciting upgrade for us!

So far, this challenge has been ok. With being out of town this weekend, we had to start later than we were wanting to. So, today is actually day one! I will keep everyone updated on the progress of the challenge!

5 thoughts on “August Health Challenge!

  1. Ally B. Jones

    Cool. I also embarked on a bit of a challenge but it will be for a lot longer than a month. I am on my weight-loss journey right now. I wish you two all the luck!

    • That’s awesome! My journey will be more than a month as well, but we thought having a month that was strict but rewarding might kickstart the whole thing! Good luck with your weight loss journey!

  2. Wishing you a ton of luck! I may attempt to join you from the sidelines on both endeavors – less sugar eating and no restaurant food! Keep us posted on your progress!

    • I will definitely be updating you all! I know it won’t be easy, but it will be worth it! Good luck to you too! Let me know how it’s going, or if you need any advice. I have given up sugar in the past, and there are tricks that make it less awful!

  3. Pingback: All Things Autumn

Leave a Reply

