Lazy Sunday Binge Watch: Pitch Perfect

Standard

If you don’t already follow Anna Kendrick on Twitter, I highly recommend it! She’s sarcastic, funny, and she writes so many things that you would expect from the “average” woman, not a Hollywood celebrity. It makes me respect her so much!

If you want to follow me on Twitter (I am not as funny as Anna Kendrick, but still), you can get to my twitter account by clicking the bird at the top of the page, or by going here.

In honor of the awesomeness that is Anna Kendrick, and the tweet above about her Netflix habits (binge watching!), today’s pick for Lazy Sunday Binge Watch is Pitch Perfect.

Note: I have not yet seen the second one. I am pretty slow in catching new movies, because I really don’t like going to movie theaters. I think they’re expensive, and most of the time I get motion sick, so it’s pretty pointless. But, I digress. Let’s get to talking about Pitch Perfect!

Recently, there seems to have been a huge trend in shows and movies about Glee Clubs and acapella groups (obviously made popular by the show “Glee”). For some reason, I like Pitch Perfect the most. There are quite a few reasons why I really enjoy watching it (over and over again).

First, it’s hilarious. The character “Fat Amy”, played by Rebel Wilson is just amazing. I think most of you know how I feel about fat shaming, so having a character named “Fat Amy” would normally not be something I would appreciate. However, this is addressed early on in the movie, when she is asked why she goes by that name. She states that she calls herself fat so that no one else can. While I am not sure that I agree with her logic, I do like that she is one of the best characters (not just the funny one). Along those lines, I think that this movie does a pretty good job of having diversity. Definitely not as much as I wish they would (the male acapella group does not have many men of color, especially not ones with speaking lines). The women, however, are really diverse, not just racially, but also in body shapes. They are not all stick thin, blonde and supermodel beautiful. Some of them are short, some of them are somewhat awkward. The vision of the acapella group is that they have that “perfect” look: all thin, beautiful, etc, but they end up desperately recruiting a rag-tag group of women who end up working really well together.

Secondly, this movie never really takes itself too seriously. Even the “serious” parts are funny and charming. There are some gross teen comedy parts (mostly involving vomit), which I think are a little over the top. Even though this movie does have a moral (mostly a “don’t judge a book by its cover” lesson), it gets to that point with plenty of laughs along the way.

I also love Anna Kendrick’s character, Beca. She has that outsider, misfit attitude. She basically only joins the acapella group so that her dad will allow her to work at the college radio station (which is what she wants to do for a career). She loves music, and loves making mashups of songs, which ends up coming in handy for the group, even though her suggestions for how to change their tired routine comes with some opposition. She is especially sarcastic and witty (just like Kendrick is in real life). She meets a boy named Jesse (played by Skylar Astin) who becomes a part of their rival all-male acapella group. He obviously likes her, and she obviously doesn’t really want to give him the time of day, but just like every other teen romantic comedy, this turns out just the way we want it to. On an interesting side note, Skylar Astin ended up dating fellow co-star Anna Camp!

Finally, the music is really fun. It really should be, since it’s basically all about music and performing acapella versions of songs, but some of the songs are so catchy! One song in the movie that is not a cover is “Cups”, performed by Anna Kendrick. It was actually played all the time on the radio the summer that the movie came out. Kendrick is a really good singer, and for some reason that was really surprising to me. The whole song isn’t in the movie, so you should go find it if you haven’t heard it. Such a fun song!

I’m sure a lot of you have seen the movie, since it was so popular when it came out. If you’re looking for a fun movie to pass the time with, however, this is a great choice! Let me know what you think in the comments! And, have a great week!

7 thoughts on “Lazy Sunday Binge Watch: Pitch Perfect

Leave a comment