Working on Goals at the End of My Twenties

Standard

Our lives are defined by opportunities, even the ones we miss. – F. Scott Fitzgerald

I am a little over a month away from turning 30. The closer I get to this milestone, the more hopeful I get. I have been getting the sense lately that I’m on the verge of some life-changing opportunities, which has been really exciting! It has also meant some hard work for me. Let me explain:

As I know most of you know, I have been blogging here for about 8 months. At the end of last year, when people start thinking about their new years resolutions, I was thinking about life goals. Two big ones came to mind: I wanted to start working on a cookbook and I wanted to start a blog that I would maintain. As 2015 rolled around, I decided that this would be the year that I would stop making excuses, and start working on things that would be fulfilling. The cookbook is a slow-going process, but something I am still thinking about and working on. I am happy to say that I think my blog is doing really well, and I am still loving it. This year, I have discovered other things to work on, which is wonderful and frustrating at the same time.

As I’ve mentioned recently, I am teaching myself to build websites. This is a long process, and since I am not in school for it, I work on it in my free time. I love learning it, I find it interesting and challenging. I would love to get a job in web development in the future, so I need to learn how to do it. I wish that I could go to school full time to learn it, mostly because there would be a timeline, and I would be done within months. I am not in the position to be a full-time student anymore, though, so luckily I can still take classes online in my free time.

My husband and I recently re-opened our conversation on buying a house. We have a lease on our apartment for another 13 months, so we have plenty of time, but we keep going back and forth on whether we want to buy a house or not. For a while, we were looking, and then I decided I didn’t feel ready to make such a big commitment. Now, I think we are in a much better place to be making this decision. The thought of buying a house is both exciting and scary. It would be nice to have our own space with only a few neighbors (and no weird lady across the hall who watches us when we leave our apartment), but there is more pressure to find a good location and a good house, because you’re kind of stuck. There is also the responsibility of fixing things when they break and paying for amenities we currently get for free (hello workout room and pool!). It would be nice to have more room to entertain, a yard, and the ability to decorate. This will be another positive change!

We have been in our current apartment for almost a year, so I am now getting that itch to rearrange and redecorate. Part of it is because even though we have an office, I don’t always like working in there. Most of the time I work wherever I am when I decide to write. I have been looking at Pinterest lately for ideas on how to make a home office that not only looks awesome, but is also a great workspace! Pinterest is dangerous because everything looks SO nice, and a lot of it is expensive. But, it is a great place for ideas. I love doing DIY projects, so I can use Pinterest as inspiration for projects. I have recently started a board with ideas on my dream home office.

Hopefully I will be able to work on my office soon, and make it something that I would love to work in!

I would love to hear from you! Tell me where you work on blog or other projects.

2 thoughts on “Working on Goals at the End of My Twenties

  1. Ally B. Jones

    I have a problem I always have these cool ideas but I don’t really believe in myself. I have this wonderful habit of talking myself out of things. I am currently in my last year in university and I honestly haven’t the foggiest idea what I am going to be doing in the future. Sorry this is completely irrelevant to you but your post just got me thinking. What am I gonna be doing when i turn 30 its not that far away since I am (23). Rambling over. I enjoyed your post. 🙂

    Ally~

    • This is totally relevant! I will let you know that we’re really similar. I always talk myself out of things, thinking I’m not good enough or people won’t like what I do, etc. I’m currently not working somewhere that fits my degree, which is sometimes disheartening. But, the beauty of life is the ability to switch paths and change directions. I was in a pretty similar situation as yours when I was 23, but I eventually decided life is far too short to not do the things I love, even if I fail. Life after graduation seems scary, but I’m sure you’ll find things you love! Sorry, rambling over for me too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

