Recipe: Make Ahead Breakfast Burritos

Standard

burritocover

I haven’t written a recipe post in a long while! I thought it was time to share another recipe with you all! Today I am going to share with you my take on Make Ahead Breakfast Burritos. Breakfast is the hardest meal of the day for my husband and I, especially on weekdays, when we really need something we can eat on the go or once we get to work. We don’t have much time to make things in the morning, but we are trying to eat more balanced breakfasts, because it sets the tone for the whole day! While browsing on Pinterest, I found this recipe from Stockpiling Moms for breakfast burritos that you make ahead, put in the freezer, and can warm up in the microwave (or oven if you have extra time). I love the idea of making things ahead of time, and breakfast burritos are awesome, so I tweaked this recipe a bit to give it more protein, and I decided to omit the hashbrowns, which are delicious, but a little unnecessary, and can give the breakfast burritos a weird texture sometimes.

burritoingredients

I gather all of my ingredients before I start making the burritos, and have everything prepped and ready to go. It is always a big bummer to have to stop assembling something in order to go back and prep. Having everything ready to go saves time and stress.

onions

I tend to like slightly bigger pieces of green onion, because I love the pop of flavor. You can absolutely cut them smaller, or even omit them if you don’t like them. The fresh flavor and bright color makes green onions one of my favorite components in the entire recipe.

cheese

Being a Midwesterner, I can tell you that I love cheese. I know that’s a stereotype, but for me, it rings true. For this, I used a mixture of Colby-Jack and a delicious smoked cheddar I picked up at the Farmer’s Market. There are so many different kinds of cheese that would work for this, don’t be afraid to experiment!

ham

I went with ham for this recipe. I love bacon and sausage too, but the ham adds really good flavor, and requires one less step because it’s already cooked! Yay for making things easy on myself!

eggs

It seems like a lot of eggs, but since you’re making 10 burritos, it really isn’t that many. Slightly more than 1 egg per serving. Every time I cook eggs, I get crunchy eggs on the side of the pan. I definitely don’t use that part in my burritos! 🙂

tortilla

I got flour tortillas, but more authentic ones. They aren’t very bready or thick, and the texture is perfect for this recipe! If you’re feeling really ambitious, you could make your own tortillas. I have never tried it, but I’ve heard they are delicious!

assemble

So many delicious foods in one place! Don’t arrange your filling like this, it will make the burrito hard to roll. I just wanted to show you approximately how much to put in each. Plus, it looks kind of pretty, I think!

wrappedburrito

A pile of burritos, all ready to be frozen! I had to keep my husband away from them, he wanted to snack on them because they looked and smelled so good!

finishedburrito

Finished product! These aren’t giant burritos (though you could always add more filling stuff to make them bigger, if you would like. They are amazing in the morning, especially now that it’s getting colder here in Minnesota. They are full of flavor and have tons of protein so they keep you full until lunch!

I hope that you like them! And, thank you to Stockpiling Moms for the inspiration for this recipe! I can’t wait to eat my breakfast burrito tomorrow morning! Let me know what you think about these in the comments!

Make Ahead Breakfast Burritos

  • Servings: 10
  • Time: 1 hour
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 10 Burrito size tortillas
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 12 eggs
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 green onions, green part thinly sliced
  • 2 c shredded cheese
  • 1 pound meat (ham, bacon, sausage, etc), chopped
  • Hot sauce or salsa
  1. Melt butter in a 12 inch skillet over medium heat. While butter is melting, crack eggs into a bowl, season with salt and pepper, and stir to begin breaking up yolks. Add eggs to the pan, and quickly stir to break up any remaining yolks. Cook, scrambling, about 10 minutes, or until done. Be sure not to overcook them, because you will be heating up the burritos, and you don’t want the eggs to be way too cooked.
  2. Meanwhile, get remaining ingredients ready, and create an assembly line in your workspace to make putting together the burritos easier.
  3. Assemble one burrito at a time by laying a tortilla down on the workspace and, if desired, spread hot sauce or salsa on half of it. Then, add eggs, beans, green onions, cheese, meat and a sprinkle of hot sauce to the tortilla. Try to lay everything down in the shape of a burrito, to make rolling easier. Fold both sides of the tortilla up to the center, fold the bottom edge up around and under the filling, and continue rolling until it looks like a burrito. Set aside, and repeat with remaining tortillas.
  4. Wrap burritos in both parchment paper (so they are easy to heat) and aluminum foil (to keep them secure for traveling and safe from freezer burn). Place in quart size zip top bag (or in the bag the tortillas came in). Place in the freezer.
  5. To serve: either put the desired number of burritos in the fridge overnight to thaw, or take directly from the freezer. To bake in an oven: bake about 15 minutes (longer if they were frozen) in both wrappers. To microwave: remove aluminum foil, place in microwave and heat for 1.5-2 minutes (or slightly longer if frozen).
Leave a Reply

