Deep Thoughts Thursday: A Diagnosis

Standard

This week has been overwhelming, to say the least. On Monday, I went in for my very first ultrasound, to help diagnose the PCOS that my doctor is certain I have. Ultrasounds are not that scary, but it’s weird. I read up about it before my appointment (of course), and found out that they are not painful. And, for the most part, it wasn’t. There was a short amount of time where it was a little painful, when the tech was getting images of my left ovary, which is the one that is uncomfortable. I was told that I would have to wait a few days for my results, which caused me some anxiety. Which made me realize that being an anxious person and having a disease that causes anxiety is going to be one of the top goals for me to fix.

I got my results today, my ultrasound came back normal. Like, no cysts. My doctor is still convinced that her diagnosis is correct, since I fit pretty much all of the other symptoms, and my tests all came back consistent with PCOS. I think that not having visible cysts maybe means that I caught it early. I really hope that I am able to heal this, and the symptoms will go away. I am still coming to terms with what this means, and trying to learn what steps I need to take from here. Having some direction will maybe make me feel less anxious, sad and empowered. And, maybe then I will be able to go back to my normal blogging schedule, and write about other things! 🙂

Leave a Reply

