Deep Thoughts Thursday: Thankfulness

Standard

Since today is Thanksgiving in the US, I think it’s the perfect (and obvious) opportunity to talk about thankfulness. I was to start off by saying that I don’t think that people should only talk about and think about what they are thankful for during the holiday season. The holidays are a natural opportunity, but finding things to be thankful for all the time and living with an attitude of gratefulness is really important. As I’ve mentioned, I am trying to make more of an effort to focus on all of the good things in life, all of the things that I am lucky to have. Both when things are going great and not-so-great, I want to reflect on things to be grateful for. I just think it would be good for me to take a step back from my busy life and reflect.

A few days ago, I wrote about some of my favorite things, which would basically sum up what I would say if I were to list the things I am thankful for this year. It’s not that those things don’t bear repeating, but I think I said what I wanted to say. If you didn’t read it, go check it out!

People in the US have mixed feelings about Thanksgiving. There are people that basically feel that it is honoring the settlers who came over and brutally treated the indigenous people. While I agree that the slaughtering and taking land from the people who were here first was wrong, and a really dark time in America’s history, Thanksgiving to me isn’t about that at all. To me, it is a time to spend around the table with my family, reflecting on the blessings of the previous year. I spend this time eating more food than I should, and enjoying the company of my loved ones.

One of my favorite things about holidays is how they have evolved. For me, holidays are not necessarily about commemorating the same message as when it was celebrated originally. The beauty of holidays is that there are so many opportunities to make your own traditions. Not everyone eats turkey and pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving. Some people go to multiple dinners, some to one. I used to watch the Thanksgiving parade on TV. I really only stopped a few years ago. My family has Thanksgiving dinner as more of a lunch, so every year, we are at least a little hungry again by dinner time. My mom and I used to make dressing for dinner, since that’s one of our favorite parts of the meal. This year, my husband and I will have chicken enchiladas with a pumpkin enchilada sauce waiting for us in case we get hungry. And, even if we are too full to eat it today, we will be able to eat it tomorrow, and keep the Thanksgiving spirit alive for one more day!

My point is that I have a lot to be thankful for. This year, I am especially thankful for traditions, especially the special traditions I just share with my family.

What about you, dear readers? What are your favorite traditions and holidays? What are you thankful for?

2 thoughts on “Deep Thoughts Thursday: Thankfulness

Leave a Reply

