Lazy Sunday Binge Watch: Trainwreck

Standard

Boy, today has not been a lazy Sunday at all! I would have loved to spend the last day of a long weekend not doing anything, but we had tons to do! My husband and I were actually really productive, and it feels really good!

Now that I have a chance to sit down, I can tell you about this week’s pick of something to watch! I recently watched Trainwreck with Amy Schumer and Bill Hader. I generally really like Amy Schemer’s comedy, and I heard that she wrote this movie, so I thought I would give it a try! I watched it with my husband on New Years Eve (we would much rather stay home on NYE…). My first impression is that it’s a hilarious romantic comedy, and something that just about anyone would enjoy.

I think that Trainwreck might be one of the funniest movies I’ve ever seen. It’s not especially crude or disgusting (though there are some sexual jokes, and if you know anything about Amy Schumer, she doesn’t really sugar coat anything). Bill Hader is always amazingly funny, but I am not sure I’ve really ever seen him as the love interest before, and I thought it was refreshing and awesome!

Basically, this movie is about a woman whose dad told her and her sister when they were kids that monogamy is unrealistic. While it didn’t have as much of an effect on her sister, she has taken it to heart. She dates, and has a boyfriend of sorts, but she never gets too close to anyone. Now that she is an adult, and getting older, she is noticing that she is missing something in her life. She meets Bill Hader, a famous sports physician who also participates in Doctors Without Borders, while writing an article about him. They begin to really like each other, but she doesn’t know how to handle someone wanting to be in a relationship with her. So, of course, in true rom com form, there are some misunderstandings and heartbreaks before both people realize that they have been stupid and need to be together. Trainwreck breaks out of that mold a little, which is nice, but it does still have that basic storyline.

One of the most surprising things about this movie is that LeBron James plays a pretty big role in the movie, and is actually really funny! There are actually a few big name athletes in the movie, but he kind of steals the show! He plays himself in the movie, and Bill Hader is basically his best friend. For some reason, his comedic timing is really impressive to me. It actually makes me respect him quite a bit. Judd Apatow did a great job directing this movie. He is also known for Freaks and Geeks, The 40 Year Old Virgin, Knocked Up and This is 40. This is by far the best movie of his I’ve seen. I can’t speak to whether or not this movie is better than Freaks and Geeks, because I never saw the show (though it’s definitely on my list).

So, if you like funny movies, and especially funny romantic comedies, or aren’t offended by sexual humor at all, I would highly recommend this movie. My husband, who does not like romantic comedies much, and isn’t the hugest fan of crude humor agreed that it was one of the funniest movies he had ever seen.

Have you seen Trainwreck yet? Let me know what you thought in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Lazy Sunday Binge Watch: Trainwreck

  1. I love love love Amy Schumer and I absolutely loved Trainwreck! I went to the movies alone to watch it and it was one of my favorite things I’ve ever done!

    • That’s awesome! I have never been to a movie alone, I will have to try it sometime! I was kind of surprised by how funny Trainwreck was, even though Amy Schumer and Bill Hader are so funny!

      • It felt so empowering to go to a movie along – it took a lot for me to get to that comfort level but I loved it! And I agree – I was also very surprised that Lebron James had suuuuch a big role in the movie. I just thought he was gonna make one or two appearances

      • I had no idea Lebron was going to be good. Usually athletes in movies aren’t good at acting. I was really impressed! Maybe he’ll do more acting someday!

Leave a Reply

