Lazy Sunday Binge Watch: The X-Files

Standard

LSBW GRAPHIC

Today is the day that X-Files fans have been waiting for: the premiere of the new season is tonight! In preparation for the new season, my husband and I have been watching the important episodes to understand the X-Files mythology. We also watched the two movies. So, in honor of the new season, X-Files is my pick this week for Lazy Sunday binge watching!

X-Files started in 1993, and was a really successful show. I remember my family watching it when I was a kid, though I didn’t usually watch it with them. I usually thought it was too scary and was not interested in it, but there are some parts of the show that bring back memories of being a kid. While it was on tv, it benefitted from being a generally well-made and entertaining show, that kept peoples’ interest for almost 10 years. For those of you unfamiliar with the show, it follows two FBI agents, as they work through cases considered part of the “x-files”, which are unsolved cases with paranormal aspects. Agent Fox Mulder, played by David Duchovny, is more of a believer in the paranormal, and thinks that there are things like aliens out there that have been to Earth. Agent Dana Scully, played by Gillian Anderson, is a skeptic who is assigned to work with Agent Mulder and discredit his work and theories. Over the course of the years, and all of the weird things they encounter, she becomes less of a skeptic, but in some ways, he becomes more of one.

This show is generally pretty dark, handling many story lines involving murders. It is often considered a thriller, and I definitely agree with that! There have been quite a few times where I have had to stop watching the show long before bed because it got a little scary. There have also been quite a few episodes that are riotously funny too, which is a great balance to the scary and dark episodes. This show can be hit-or-miss though when it comes to writing. There are tons of episodes that are really well written. There are episodes that definitely miss the mark, though. It seems to get worse in the later seasons.

There are two X-Files movies as well. I don’t really think that either of them are very well-written. The second one is cool because it takes place after the original run of the show ended, so we are able to see what happens to Agents Mulder and Scully after the show. It’s just not a great concept for a movie. It was also written during the writer’s strike in 2007-2008. So, that helps explain why it was so poorly written, though I don’t think that it would be a fantastic movie if it had been written when the Writers Guild of America wasn’t on strike.

I think that X-Files is a good show for people who like mysteries and thrillers. I don’t generally love thrillers, but the stories in this show are interesting enough to make it worth getting a little scared. If you are interested in watching the show, I would honestly suggest looking for lists of the best episodes online and watching those. Being able to watch the “greatest hits” is definitely worth it, and is a great way to be introduced to the show. The entire show is available to watch on Netflix. The movies are not streaming on Netflix right now, but we were able to get the first one from Netflix’s DVD service, and the second one was available through our library!

Hopefully the new season will be well-written and a great way to continue the story. I am anxiously waiting to watch it! Have a great week everybody!

2 thoughts on “Lazy Sunday Binge Watch: The X-Files

  1. Yay All Things Autumn is here! I always get so excited when you put up new posts, it’s always one of the highlights of my day πŸ™‚ Everyone else I know is getting so excited about The X-Files, and I know one day I’ll convince myself to watch it. I didn’t know it was released so far back. I guess that means more binge watching! XD
    Hatsy xx
    nearlyaprincess.wordpress.com

    • Thank you for your lovely comment! It’s so awesome to hear when people like my posts!! πŸ™‚

      I highly suggest The X-Files. It’s sometimes cheesy, but there’s lots to watch, which is perfect for cold weather days!

Leave a Reply

